Voting for panchayat elections in West Bengal, ballot box looted in North 24 Parganas

Jackson Brown

West Bengal Panchayat election: Amidst the violence in West Bengal, voting has started in more than 73 thousand seats in the panchayat elections. Adequate security arrangements have been made regarding the voting. The counting of votes will take place on July 11.

Long queues were seen outside polling stations since 6 am amid intermittent rain. A total of 2.06 lakh candidates are in the fray for 73,887 seats.

The ruling Trinamool Congress is contesting all 928 Zilla Parishad seats, 9,419 Panchayat Samiti seats and 61,591 Gram Panchayat seats. The BJP has fielded candidates in 897 Zilla Parishad seats, 7,032 Panchayat Samiti seats and 38,475 Gram Panchayat seats.

See also  Employment is headed for a record 21 million workers two months before the elections

The CPI(M) is contesting 747 Zilla Parishad seats, 6,752 Panchayat Samiti seats and 35,411 Gram Panchayat seats. The Congress is contesting 644 Zilla Parishad seats, 2,197 Panchayat Samiti seats and 11,774 Gram Panchayat seats.

About 83 thousand personnel of central forces have been deployed at polling stations. Armed police of 19 states are also deployed in Bengal along with central forces. 18 people have died in the state in 30 days.

TMC workers were killed in Murshidabad and Trinamool Congress in Cooch Behar ahead of polling. There is news of looting of ballot boxes in North 24 Parganas district. Meanwhile, some miscreants vandalized Booth 6/130, Barvita Primary School in Seetai, Cooch Behar.

See also  The US discreetly stopped the coup temptation of some soldiers after the defeat of Bolsonaro

AITC candidate’s husband was attacked in Narayanpur-1 Gram Panchayat, Nadia. Crude bombs were also hurled at Haseena Sultana’s husband and other AITC workers just before the start of the election.

This time a direct contest is being seen between the Trinamool Congress and the BJP in the Panchayat elections. The Left Front and the Congress are also trying to strengthen their hold in the panchayat elections.

Leave a Comment