Yashasvi Jaiswal will rule ‘Tilak’ in T20I, these forgotten youths were also called back

Jackson Brown

Young talented batsmen Yashasvi Jaiswal Yashsvi Jaiswal and Tilak Verma have been included in the Indian squad for the T20I series against the West Indies in August. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) gave this information on Wednesday.

Both Jaiswal and Tilak performed brilliantly in the 2023 season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Jaiswal, who received the ‘Emerging Player of the Year’ award for IPL 2023, scored 625 runs in 14 matches at a strike rate of 164, including a century and six fifties. Jaiswal was sent to London with the Indian team for the World Test Championship (WTC) final due to his performances in domestic cricket. He has also been included in the squad for the two Test matches against the West Indies starting July 12.

On the other hand, 20-year-old Tilak Verma has cemented his place in the Mumbai Indians middle-order after 2022 with impressive performances in IPL 2023 as well. Tilak was instrumental in helping Mumbai reach the playoffs this year, scoring 343 runs in 11 IPL matches at a strike rate of 164.11 and an average of 42.88.

See also  The Rubio publishing house launches its school notebooks for the holidays in Basque

Sanju Samson has made a comeback in the squad selected under newly appointed head coach Ajit Agarkar. Samson missed the New Zealand T20I series in January–February 2023 due to a shoulder injury. Pacer Avesh Khan and leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi have also returned to the squad.

Indore’s Avesh Khan returns

Avesh played his last T20 match for India in August 2022 against Hong Kong in the Asia Cup. Avesh gave away 53 runs in four overs in that match. Avesh was ruled out of the Asia Cup due to fever and could not make it to the team after that. He took only eight wickets in nine matches of IPL this year while giving runs at an economy of 9.75.

See also  Called off the indefinite strike of Air Nostrum pilots

Remembered Ravi Vishnoi too

Bishnoi also appeared in the national team jersey for the last time in the Asia Cup, where India had to face defeat in the Super-4 against Pakistan. Bishnoi took one wicket for 26 runs in four overs in that match, although he did not get a chance to play for the Indian team after that tournament. Bishnoi, who plays for Lucknow Super Giants, took 16 wickets in 14 matches in IPL 2023.

The pairing of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal still remains in the squad while Shivam Mavi could not make it to the 15-man squad. Kolkata Knight Riders’ match-winning finisher Rinku Singh has also not got a chance to go to the West Indies with the Indian team. Mukesh Kumar, who was included in the squad after missing out on the New Zealand T20 series, is waiting to take the field in the Indian jersey.

See also  2,200 roadblocks and 1,700 ertzainas to guarantee the safety of the stages of the Tour de France in the Basque Country

The first match between India and West Indies in the five-match T20 series will be held on August 3 at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad. The second and third T20 matches will be played in Guyana, after which both the teams will leave for Florida, USA to play the last two matches.(agency)

India’s T20 squad for West Indies tour : Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Verma, Suryakumar Yadav (vice-captain), Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya (captain), Akshar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.

Leave a Comment